top of page
Search
  • mattheis1

ECU Emerging Scholar Nov. 2019

This month I had the great fortune of participating in the Emerging Scholars Symposium at East Carolina University! I was one of a cohort of seventeen amazing PhD candidates and


Postdocs selected for this term's program. It was truly wonderful to meet so many amazing folks doing incredible scholarship from all over the country!


I was delighted to be hosted by the School of Communication in the College of Fine Arts and Communication.





The program was wonderful with many events over three days (Nov. 12-14) including the chance to meet with ECU leadership, administrative offices and campus centers, the opportunity to present my research and engagement with students and faculty in our host departments.


I was also very fortunate to be able to teach a class as a guest lecturer in an intercultural communication class where I provided an interactive lecture on meme analysis and online cultural communication. The class was so much fun and the students went "all in" with me and we analyzed a series of #GamerGate memes together.

The faculty in the School of Communication were lovely and we had a very lively faculty "mingle." We were treated to a special Jazz performance by Caroll V. Dashiell Jr. and his amazing student ensemble and a wonderful session with honors students who told us about their experiences at ECU. My thanks to all who planned this event both from ECU's Office for Equity and Diversity and the School of Communication, particularly Dr. Deborah Thomson.

21 views0 comments
bottom of page